Eastern Ontario Fastball Blog

A blog dedicated to news about the Greater Ottawa Fastball League and other happenings in the world of fastball / fastpitch softball in eastern Ontario and western Quebec, with occasional stories featuring Mrs Fitzroy Fastball, Fitzroy Fastball Junior and the Caveman. If you have info to send on, send me an email at fastball[at]fitzroyharbour.com. Follow @fitzroyfastball on Twitter.

Follow fitzroyfastball on Twitter

Sunday, August 19, 2012

West Carleton Electric wins OASA Men's Intermediate B title

Fitzroy Harbour West Carleton Electric went 4-0 to win the Ontario Amateur Softball Association Men's Intermediate B Provincial title in Sudbury this past weekend.

The Electric, combining with Barrhaven Broadway Blues for the event, were tops in the seven team field to earn the title.

With North Bay a late withdrawal, the format was modified to a double knockout instead of pool play to determine the Provincial Men's B champion. The first four teams eliminated went to a consolation bracket for the Provincial C title.

WC Electric started off with a victory over the Pickering Panthers. Steve Cavanagh tossed the two-hit shutout in a 4-0 win. Dave Taylor took the loss for the Panthers. Cavanagh earned the MVP award for Fitzroy.

The second game saw Fitzroy face the Sox, a second entry from Pickering. The game was interupted in the second inning while scoreless for a two hour rain delay. After coming back from the break, the Sox went up 4-0. However, a two-run shot deep to centre by Trevor Power cut the lead in half. In the fourth a seven run inning made it 9-4 and the Electric cruised to their second win. Paul Ceppi earned the victory while Glen Sellars was the losing pitcher. Jeff Cavanagh had two key hits for Fitzroy Harbour. Power was tapped as MVP for the Electric.

This set up the undefeated game on Saturday night between Fitzroy Harbour and the host Sudbury North Stars who had three players from the ISC Parry Island Hawks. In a see-saw battle, West Carleton Electric prevailed 5-3 with Jason Smith earning the win and Jordy "Swede" Dahlvick taking the loss. Smith was awarded the MVP for the winning team.

West Carleton then proceeded directly to the championship game. In play on Sunday, Bracebridge The Farm beat Pickering Panthers, but Bracebridge lost to Sudbury 3-2 to set up a rematch in the final.

In the championship game, Fitzroy Harbour started Steve Cavanagh, while the North Stars countered with Brad Matheson. Catcher Trevor Power cashed an RBI in the first inning to get West Carleton on the board. In the third, with Cory Morrison and Dave Bahm on base, Kevin Shonfield stroked a hard line drive deep to centre field (254 feet) that allowed him to score on an in the park homer to make it 4-0. Swede Dahlvick came in to relieve. WC got another run after Neil Murphy's RBI single drove in Jon Daley who had tripled. Final score was 5-0. Steve Cavanagh, who was named top pitcher in the final after chucking a five-hitter, threw fourteen innings on the weekend allowing zero runs and only seven hits. Shonfield was named top hitter in the final and Power the MVP.

Judging by a quick scan of the trophy plaque, it appears that this may be the first time in OASA history that a team from eastern Ontario has won the OASA Men's Provincial B title. Pickering Panthers won the Provincial C title over the Toanche Eagles.

UPDATE: Article also on Al's Fastball from Roger Legendre about the event.

Labels: ,


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Well done lads

8:36 am  

Post a Comment

<< Home